Prime Minister Shram awards for 2010 Announced to 76 Workers


NEW DELHI:  The Government of India today announced the Prime Minister’s Shram Awards for the year 2010 to be awarded to 76 workers employed in the Departmental Undertakings & Public Sector Undertakings of the Central and State Governments and Private Sector Units employing 500 or more workers in recognition of their distinguished performances, innovative abilities, outstanding contribution in the field of productivity and exhibition of exceptional courage and presence of mind.

Prime Minister’s Shram Awards recognize the outstanding contributions made by workmen as defined in the Industrial Dispute Act, 1947 in organizations both in public and private sector and who have distinguished record of performance, devotion to duty of a high order, specific contribution in the field of productivity, proven innovative abilities, presence of mind and exceptional courage and also to the workmen who have made supreme sacrifice of laying down their lives in the conscientious discharge of their duties

This year, no nomination was found suitable for the presitigious Shram Ratna Award.  Shram Ratna common for both the Public and Private Sectors, carries Rs.2,00,000 cash Award and a ‘Sanad’, is given to a worker who has really outstanding calibre and has made exceptional all round contribution.

Twelve nominations for the Shram Bhushan Award,  Thirty Eight nominations for Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana and Twenty Six  nominations for Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awards have been selected. Even though, the total number of Shram Awards is 33, the number of workers receiving the Awards is 76 (including one women), as some of the Awards have been shared by workers and/or  teams of workers consisting of more than one worker. These include 57 workers from the public sector and 19 workers from the private sector.


Total number of Shram Bhushan Awardees are twelve. It carries a cash award of Rs. 1,00,000/- and a ‘Sanad’.  Nine nominations were found suitable for the Shram Bhushan Award for the year 2010 in respect of Public Sector Undertakings.

The Shram Bhushan Awards  in respect of Public Sector undertakings are given to S/Shri S. Karuppiah,  R.Jagadeesan,  A.Veerappan, S. Raja ( jointly) all from Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd Tiruchirapalli and S/Shri Mukund Mohan, Narayan Rao,  Toran Lal Sahu,  Girivar Prasad Sharma,  G.B.S Choudhary (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and  in respect of Private Sector to S/Shri Sachikanta Mahato and Rajesh Kumar Dwivedi (Jointly) both from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and Shri Swapan Bera from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur.


Total number of Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana Awardees are thrity eight. It carries a cash award of Rs. 60,000/- and a ‘Sanad’. No female worker from Public Sector and Private Sector was found suitable for Shram Veerangana Award.

The Shram Vir awardees in respect of Public Sector Undertakings are (One nomination in lieu of Shram Ratna)  Khirsai Patel,  Ajay Kumar Sahu,  Sudhir Kumar Banchhor,   Bharat Wadalkar, and  Nagendra Sah (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and  Rajesh Kumar Tikiriha,  Binay Krishna Ghosh,  Reyazul Khan,  Prem Chandra Kaushik and  Ajazul Haque Quraishi (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and  Prashant Dutta,  Mahendra Kumar Rathod,  Andrius Johan,  Kirti Kumar Dewangan and  Dewalu Ram Gajendra (jointly) all from Bhilai  Steel Plant and S/Shri Vinay Kumar Thakre,  Waheeduddin,  Om Prakash Singh Thakur and  K.R. Joseph (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and Ashutosh Kumar Choubey,  Indiwar Awasthi,  Khitish Chand Acharjee,  Ravindra Singh and Samay Lal Kosta (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and S/Shri Sushil Kumar Adhikary, Ramesh Chandra Swain,  Trilochon Mishra and  Pramod Kumar Pradhan (jointly) all from Rourkela Steel Plant and S. Elumalai and  K. Mahadevan (jointly) both from Salem Steel Plant and in respect of private sector the awardees are Rajesh, R. Vijay Kumar and Umesh Kumar Mishra (jointly) all from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and Sarat Kumar Mahanta from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and Shri Sankarsana Biswal from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and Shri Shiv Dayal Raghuvanshi from  National Engineering Industries Ltd., Jaipur and Subodh Kumar Sahay from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and H. Rajanna from L&T Komatsu Ltd., Bangalore.


Total number of Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awardees are twenty six. It carries a cash award of Rs. 40,000/- and a ‘Sanad’. one female workers from Public sector have been selected for Shram Devi Awards for this year.

The Shram Shree/Shram Devi awardees in respect of Public Sector Undertakings are Prasan Kumar Pradhan,  Ramesh Chandra Dhal and  Ramakanta Barik (jointly) all from NTPC and  Mohinder Kumar and  Pawan Kumar Khanna (jointly) both from NTPC and M.C. Anil Kumar from Tarapur Atomic Power Station, Tarapur and A. Kamaraj from  Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd, Ranipet and Awadhesh Sharma from  Bokaro Steel Plant, Bokaro and  Diwan Yeshwant Kamble from Indian Ordnance Factory, Ordnance Factory, Ambernath and Avijit Kumar Chanda,  Sasanka Roy,  Soumen Mondal,  Atanu Sain,  Rathin Banerjee (jointly) all from Durgapur Steel Plant, Durgapur and  Miss Tanuja Patnaik,  Sachida Nanda Mahanta,  Ananta Charan Nayak and  Bhagaban Dash (jointly) all from Rourkela Steel Plant, Rourkela.

In respect of private sector the awardees are  Vinod Kumar M Patel from Reliance Industries Ltd, Surat and  Rajesh Tribhovandas Patel from  Reliance Industries Ltd, Surat and Prabhu Narayan Singh from  Hindalco Industries Limited, Renukoot, Sonebhadra and Shri B. Gouri Shankar Rao from J.K. Paper Mills, Jaykaypur, Orissa and Pintu Mohan Kundu from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and  Dilip Madhav Raut from  Larsen & Toubro Ltd., Mumbai and Solanki Jayendrabhai Himatlal from  Excel Crop Care Ltd, Bhavnagar and  Niranjan Kar from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur.

Please follow and like us:



Previous articlePrime Minister’s Shram Awards to 4 Hindustan Zinc Employees
Next articleIndustrial unrest is a matter of serious concern: Prime Minister
India CSR Network
India CSR Network is India's biggest and most trusted news portal in the domain of CSR & Sustainability. India CSR welcomes stories, statements, updates, reports on issues that interest you. Feedback, comments will make it more purposeful and resourceful. It is designed and maintained by India CSR Group. Contents are non-fiction. Though all efforts have been made to verify the accuracy, the same should not be construed as a statement of law or used for any legal purposes. In case of any ambiguity or doubts, readers are advised to verify with the source(s). Statement, articles, views and contributions can be sent to