Tata Steel bags CNBC Asia’s CSR Award at ‘CNBC-18 TV India Business Leader Awards 2012’


INDACSR News Network

JAMSHEDPUR:  Tata Steel bagged the corporate social responsibility award at the seventh edition of ‘India Business Leader Awards 2012’ (IBLA) – Asia’s most distinguished awards for Excellence in Leadership, held in New Delhi at The Lalit, Connaught Place, on 17th January, 2012. The award was received by Mr HM Nerurkar, Managing Director, Tata Steel on behalf of the Company from the Finance Minister, Pranab Mukherjee.

The award is recognition of Tata Steel’s CSR models which takes ownership of several aspects like urban services, infrastructure development, healthcare facilities, and creation of sustainable livelihood in rural areas, disaster management and support of other non-profit organizations.

While receiving the award, Mr HM Nerurkar, Managing Director, Tata Steel, said “Basically it is the founder’s values of giving back to society many times more what you take from it. Truly, the credit goes to employees, union and senior management team which has helped us throughout.”

Mr B Muthuraman, Vice Chairman, Tata Steel, congratulated Mr Nerurkar and said in a videographed message, “Mr Nerurkar is one of the outstanding leaders from Tata Steel and Tata group. I am sure he will continue the rich Tata tradition of bringing in visionary leadership.”

Earlier this month Tata Steel bagged the award in the ‘Metal Category’ at the seventh edition of the prestigious NDTV Profit Business Leadership Awards. The award was recognition of the various initiatives and innovations taken up by Tata Steel to respond and adapt to the ever changing business scenario.

CNBC- TV 18 presented the seventh edition of ‘India Business Leader Awards 2012’, to honor the individuals and organizations that have created new benchmarks for corporate excellence and have taken Indian Business to anew echelon of fame. The jury was chaired by Mr Mukesh Ambani, Mr KM Birla, Mr Anand Mahindra, Ms Chanda Kochhar and Mr Deepak Parekh.

The awards witnessed luminaries from the business fraternity like Ms Chanda Kochhar, Managing Director, ICICI Bank; Mr Kumar Mangalam Birla, Chairman, Aditya Birla Group; Mr Deepak Parekh, Non- Executive Chairman, HDFC; Mr B Muthuraman, Vice Chairman, Tata Steel; Mayank Pareek, Executive Director, Maruti Suzuki, and many more such renowned dignitaries.

Please follow and like us:



Previous articleNational Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Conclave Held in Cochin
Next articlePower Finance Corporation to Support Saakshar Bharat Programme
India CSR Network
India CSR Network is India's biggest and most trusted news portal in the domain of CSR & Sustainability. India CSR welcomes stories, statements, updates, reports on issues that interest you. Feedback, comments will make it more purposeful and resourceful. It is designed and maintained by India CSR Group. Contents are non-fiction. Though all efforts have been made to verify the accuracy, the same should not be construed as a statement of law or used for any legal purposes. In case of any ambiguity or doubts, readers are advised to verify with the source(s). Statement, articles, views and contributions can be sent to editor@indiacsr.in