Cricket Tournament organised by JSPL

IndiaCSR News Network

angulANGUL: A mega cricket tournament – CricFest 2014 – has been organised by Jindal Steel & Power Ltd (JSPL) at Jindal Nagar, Angul. The tournament ended with an exciting final match on December 24, 2014. This Eleven-day long cricket tournament managed by the Jindal Officer Club (JOC) of JSPL was witnessed 31 electrifying matches, played under floodlights. The Dare Devils Team of Security Department became champion of the tournament by defeating Josh Team of CGP Department, in the final match. Executive Director and Location Head of Angul Mr. Dinesh Kumar Saraogi, graced the tournament as Chief Guest and presented the trophies in presence Mr. Damodar Mittal (EVP – CGP & DRI), Mr. Samar Suri (EVP – Phase 1B), , Mr. S.K Agarwal (Sr. VP – Contract Cell & Stores), Dr. S.K Mahapatra, (VP – HR), Mr. Takeshwar Shahi (AVP – RMHS) and over a crowd of more than 700 people.

After losing the toss and offered to bat first by Josh Team, the Dare Devils made 103 runs in 12 overs with loss of 9 wickets and set a target of 104 runs for Josh to win the tournament trophy. But, chasing the score within the stipulated 12 overs, team Josh made 93 runs and lost the match by 10 runs only. The last few minutes of the final match was filled with lots of excitement.

“Sportsmanship is a part of JSPL’s culture and this has reflected in this tournament”, said ED & Location Head of Mr. Dinesh Kumar Saraogi, after distributing the trophies. He appreciated the effort of Jindal Officers Club Members in organizing such a successful tournament.

Mr. Sushil from Security team awarded as Man-of-the match and the tournament, where Mr. Asish Mishra from RMHS/Logistics team declared as best batsman of the tournament and Mr. Bichitra Giri from Coal Gasification Plant received the best bowler of the tournament award.

A huge crowd, comprising of people from local villages and employees of JSPL , enjoyed the tournament, which in fact, kindled the local youth’s excitement for last fortnight.

All the 41 departments of JSPL participated with their best players in this Cricket Extravaganza which was inaugurated on 13th Dec, 2014. This tournament was managed by JOC Sports Secretary Capt. Ajit Singh, Mr. M. Amit Kumar and their team comprising of Mr. Rishi Awasthi, Mr. Neeraj Mishra, Mr. Ayush Srivastava, Mr. Debabrata Das, Mr. Abhilash Das, Mr. Amal Dev, Mr. Saurabh Chatterjee, Mr. Manoj Yadav and Mr. Ranees. The elite umpiring panel comprised of Mr. Shomen Chatterjee, Mr. Tapas Mohanty, Mr. Arup Sarkar, Mr. Angesh Jha and Mr. Rajeev Khanna.



Previous articleHema Malini inaugurated 3-days Mega Eye Camp, organised by Mahindru Foundation  
Next articleR&R Vs CSR : A curtain raiser
India CSR Network
India CSR Network is India's biggest and most trusted news portal in the domain of CSR & Sustainability. India CSR welcomes stories, statements, updates, reports on issues that interest you. Feedback, comments will make it more purposeful and resourceful. It is designed and maintained by India CSR Group. Contents are non-fiction. Though all efforts have been made to verify the accuracy, the same should not be construed as a statement of law or used for any legal purposes. In case of any ambiguity or doubts, readers are advised to verify with the source(s). Statement, articles, views and contributions can be sent to