Sesa Sterlite Observes International Women’s Day

The fastest way to develop the society is to mobilize the women of the world. Women are the real architects of society.

IndiaCSR News Network

LANJIGARH: International Women’s Day is celebrated on March 8 every year to mark women’s achievements and to appreciate their contribution to the world.

In this year Sesa Sterlite celebrates the function at its R & R Colony Premises among the SHG members as well as the AWW workers and officials of Vedanta Foundation Child Care Center.

In the eve Adarsha Gupta, President, Vedanta Ladies Club lightened the Lamp in the presence of other dignitaries like Dr Mukesh Kumar, COO & President Sesa Sterlite Ltd, Dr Himanshu Mohanty-Regional Director DAV, Tapaswini Mishra-Principal DAV Public School Rourkela, Jyotshna Rani Mishra-ICDS Supervisor, Dr Shukla Chakraborty – Principal DAV Vedanta international School, Swarnalata Mohanty- Principal Anganwadi training Center, Jalaj Malpani-Vice President Finance, Koustav Ratan Kundu-Head HR and Sakuntala Nundruka- Zilla Parishad Vice chairperson, Rayagada.

Sesa Sterlite in association with Vedanta Foundation has organized the function where about 1000 ladies of nearby villagers have attended.

Dr Mukesh Kumar, COO & President Sesa Sterlite says” Company has always been doing several  developmental activities   of the women in the region and Company is going to build a 50 bedded O & G wards to  the  community for providing better treatment.”

Initially the dignitaries have been invited to the stage with welcome song and there is mass pledge taken among all the presented people for the safety of women and female child in the area. Even the SHG members have displayed their products I,e Phenyl, Agarabati, appliqué. Today’s function has been monitored by Balakrushna Rath & Tapaswini Ray who has given the welcome speech.

Lastly around 700 saree has been distributed among the villager’s women. The women enjoyed a lot by the dance performances of students. The guests have encouraged the SHG members and child care takers with momentums.

Other presented in the function are Ranjan Sharma-Head CSR, Sweta Upadhay, Srikant Bohidar, Binod Rath, Srimukh Agasty- CSR, Dr. Akhay Sahoo, Sidhartha Behera ,Tapas Patnaik, Soumendra Maharana etc.