11th Honda Young Engineer and Scientist’s Award Announced 

Provides scholarships to 14 aspiring Engineers and Scientists. Opportunity for higher professional education in Japan.   

NEW DELHI: Honda Motor India Pvt. Ltd. (HMI) today presented the 11th Edition of the Young Engineer and Scientist’s (Y-E-S) Award for 2017-18 to 14 students from science and technology institute, the IITs, across India.

The Chief Guest Kenji Hiramatsu, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Embassy of Japan, presented the Award to the students in recognition of their outstanding all-round performance in academics. Also present on the occasion, was Dr. (Ms.) Kazuko Matsumoto, Director, Honda Foundation, who was also the Guest of Honor.

A scholarship of cash equivalent of US $3000 each, was presented to 14 students selected from six IITs – Delhi, Bombay, Madras, Kharagpur, Kanpur and Hyderabad on the basis of their Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA), Essays and 2 rounds of personal interviews with the selection committee of Senior Honda Executives and Shirish Garud, Director- TERI, the chief assessor of the selection committee.

Hiramatsu says “India and Japan enjoy a fulfilling bilateral relationship and I hope that through this opportunity you will experience Japan’s advanced technological system and enjoy research which is aimed at contributing to social causes.”

Award was instituted by the Honda Foundation in India in 2007 and is facilitated by Honda Motor India, to nurture young students who have excelled in the area of science and technology and aspire for higher academic achievement. With this program, Honda Foundation hopes to promote dissemination of eco-technology among the young generations and, at the same time, to strengthen interaction and exchange between Japanese & Indian youth expected to lead science, technology and industry.

Kenichi Takashima, President & CEO, Honda Motor India said, “The journey has been phenomenal and we have received tremendous response and enthusiasm from the IIT students who put in their best efforts to showcase their work. So far we have awarded 140 such students in 11 years. Such platform encourages young professionals to involve in higher research in the field of technology. We want to provide them the opportunity with Y-E-S Award so that they can fulfill their dreams.”

The awardees for Y-E-S Award 2017-18 in India are:

Satyam Mohla IIT Bombay
Pranjal Jhaveri IIT Bombay
Ankesh Gupta IIT Delhi
Mohit Goyal IIT Delhi
Sukrut Sridhar Rao IIT Hyderabad
Shivangi Ranjan IIT Kanpur
Kumar Kshitij Patel IIT Kanpur
Preetham Paul Sunkari IIT Kanpur
Ayan Majumder IIT Kharagpur
Bindu Sancheti IIT Kharagpur
Piyush Nanda IIT Kharagpur
Hari Ramachandran IIT Madras
Anand Anjimeti Rajasekar IIT Madras
Aniket Kamthe IIT Madras