National Cricket Tournament hosted by Tata Steel for persons with disabilities concludes


Delhi emerged as the National Champion and Haryana as the Runner-Up

India CSR News Network

WEST BOKARO: 2nd Divyang Mini National Day & Night Cricket Tournament hosted by Tata Steel West Bokaro Division concluded on April 27, 2017 amidst lot of fanfare at Sports Complex, West Bokaro.

The concluding ceremony of the 3-day mega sporting event was attended by Sunil Kumar, DDC, Ramgarh and Sanjay Kumar Singh, General Manager, West Bokaro Division, Tata Steel were the Chief Guests of the concluding ceremony and Mohant Mahto, President, RCMS and K Rami Reddy, Secretary, Disabled Cricket Association (India) were the Guests of Honour.

Delhi team won the championship beating Haryana in the finals by 21 runs. Delhi team’s captain Mohammed Mahtab Ali was adjudged the ‘Man of the Series’ while Pradeep Kumar of Delhi was declared the ‘Man of the Match’.

The winning team along with the runner-up team received trophies from the guests in a grand function that was attended by more than 500 people.

This mega sporting event for the persons with disabilities was jointly organised by Tata Steel and JBDCA. The partnership is a reflection of the Company’s aim to promote sports as means of empowering youth, especially the sporting genius with disabilities.

Appreciating the efforts of Tata Steel and JBDCA, Sunil Kumar said, “I had never thought that Ramgarh had such a beautiful stadium. Tata Steel is a pioneer in promoting sports and by supporting this tournament; Tata Steel has brought this kind of cricket to a different level”.

Reiterating Tata Steel’s commitment towards sports, Sanjay Singh said,“We are happy to be associated with the tournament that promotes Diversity & Inclusion. Everyone who participated in the tournament is a winner and we all need to learn from them how to convert limitations into opportunities.”

Among others present on the occasion were Vijay Mewar, Chief Patron, Jharkhand Board of Divyang Cricket Association (JBDCA); Mr Dushyant Patel, Member, Zilla Parishad; Kanchan Kumari, Up Pramukh, Mandu block; Rajkumar Mahto, Representative of MLA, Mandu; Sahid Siddiqui, President, JBDCA, Nand Kishore Prasad, Vice President, JBDCA, senior officials of Tata Steel and PRI members from in and around West Bokaro.

Award Name of the Player/Team State
Champion Team Delhi
Runner-up Team Haryana
Man of the Series Mohammed Mahtab Ali (Captain) Delhi
Man of the Match Pradeep Kumar Delhi
Best Disciplined Team UP
Best Batsman of the Tournament Baban Singh Jharkhand
Best Baller of the Tournament Mohhamed Hakim Delhi
Best Catch Kamal Singh Soni UP
Please follow and like us: