Annual Safety Fortnight celebrated in Mainpat Mines with fervor


MAINPAT: Mainpat Bauxite Mines under Sarguja District celebrated Annual Safety Function with lot of grandeur. In the Safety Fortnight, the winners of various competitions like quiz, drawing and essay writing were awarded.

Balco officers, employees and contract workers took an oath to adopt a safe working style and to make Mines a ‘zero’ accident area. Plantation was carried in the Mines area. School children gave cultural presentations.

Under the function for non-coal mines held under the aegis of Director General of Mines Safety, Raigarh, Saifulla Ansari, Director-Mines Safety, Raigarh Region was present as the Chief Guest. Amit Chauhan, Programme Coordinator from Shree Cement Limestone Mines. Milind Shore, Mines Manager, Hirmi Dolomite Mines and Naresh Kumar Vishisth, Engineer, N.M.D.C Kirandul Mines, were present as guests.

Ansari unfurled the Safety flag. Rajesh Mishra, Head- Balco Bauxite Mines, Pramod Ranjan, Head-HSE, Mines, Balco and Ajay Tewari, Head – Mainpat Mines were present on the occasion. The guests were acquainted with Balco’s mining and production working, safety measures, achievements and plantation campaign.

Saifulla Ansari said that safety is a continual process.  He said we should use local language which can be easily understood by the targeted person for explaining zero accident, safety production, digitalisation, labour welfare, use of safety equipment, safety training and awareness about safety rules.

Amit Chauhan said it is necessary that we should have a positive attitude towards safety. He added that safety concern should commence from home. Milind Shore and Naresh Kumar said that we should follow safety rules in every work we do.

School students and Rural Dance Group gave a wonderful presentation of songs and Karma Dance. Balco’s Saurabh Sharma and Satyendra Pal, Contract Workers – Chander Das and Suresh Yadav won everybody’s heart by their safety song. A skit was presented. Adherence to safety rules and awareness about first aid were presented through the skit.

In the Quiz competition the prize winners were Subhash Rathore-First, Jaikaran- Second and Bijender Singh – Third.  In the essay writing competition the first prize was bagged by Ravi Prakash, Balco, the second by Saurabh Sharma, Balco and the third by Ashish Gurjar, Balco.

Dilip Kumar stood first in the drawing competition, Anju stood second and Anushthan Pandey stood third. In another category, the first prize went to Maksudan, the second to Nakul Ram and the third went to Ayush Pandey. In the third category, the first prize went to Ravi Prakash, the second to Anju Rai of Vedanta Skill School and the third went to Budhan. All the winners received prizes from Balco.

The ‘Best Employee’ Awards for 2018 went to Santosh Yadav, Mining Mate, Sanjay Singh, Incharge –Blasting and Jaynath Das, Contract Employee. The occasion saw the presence of many Balco Officers; Bishu Kumar, Sushil Senapati, Sudhansu Mishra, Pankaj Gautam, Amit Kumar, Siddharth Shankar Behera and Chandrabali Yadav from Labour Union along with many Balco officers, employees, contract workers and villagers.

The Vote of Thanks was presented by Satyakam Das, Manager, Kesra Mines. The programme was anchored by Shashwat Sharma.

Please follow and like us:



Previous articleCSR : Honeywell Safe Schools Program undertakes campaign to build awareness to curb air pollution
Next articleSMS For An Accident
India CSR Network
India CSR Network is India's biggest and most trusted news portal in the domain of CSR & Sustainability. India CSR welcomes stories, statements, updates, reports on issues that interest you. Feedback, comments will make it more purposeful and resourceful. It is designed and maintained by India CSR Group. Contents are non-fiction. Though all efforts have been made to verify the accuracy, the same should not be construed as a statement of law or used for any legal purposes. In case of any ambiguity or doubts, readers are advised to verify with the source(s). Statement, articles, views and contributions can be sent to