10 Key Features of the Indian Constitution

India officially became a republic on January 26th, 1950, after gaining independence from British rule in 1947. Explore 10 Significant Features of the Indian Constitution.

The Preamble of the Indian Constitution sets forth the objectives of the Constitution and the fundamental principles on which it is based.

The Indian Constitution guarantees certain fundamental rights to all citizens, including the right to equality, freedom of speech and expression, and the right to life and personal liberty.

The Indian Constitution sets forth certain directive principles of state policy, which are not enforceable by courts but are intended to guide the government in the making of laws and policies.

The Indian Constitution establishes a federal structure of government, with power divided between the central government and the state governments.

The Indian Constitution provides for a separation of powers between the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government.

The Indian Constitution establishes an independent judiciary, with the Supreme Court as the highest court of the land.

The Indian Constitution defines who is a citizen of India and lays out the rights and duties of citizens.

The Indian Constitution provides for certain emergency provisions, under which the President can take certain actions in the event of a national emergency.

The Indian Constitution lays out the procedure for amending the Constitution, which can be done by a special majority in both houses of the parliament.

The Indian Constitution contains several schedules and appendices, which provide additional details on various aspects of the Constitution such as the Union and State List, Union Territory, etc.